Ghana coach: Ronaldo's record goal 'gift' by ref

Ghana coach: Ronaldo's record goal 'gift' by ref

Nov 25, 2022 by ESPN

Key Facts

  • (1:21) 12:09 AM UTC * Associated Press LUSAIL, Qatar -- Ghana coach Otto Addo criticized the American referee who awarded the penalty that resulted in Cristiano Ronaldo's record goal at the World Cup on Thursday, calling it "a special gift.'' Ronaldo won and converted the second-half penalty, making him the first male player to score in five World Cups.
  • [It was] a special gift from the referee.'' - World Cup 2022: News and features | Schedule Addo's criticism of American referee Ismail Elfath was so direct that it could put him into trouble with FIFA.
  • When asked what he thought was the reason for Ghana's narrow defeat, Addo responded: "The referee.'' Addo felt Ghana defender Mohammed Salisu didn't foul Ronaldo for the penalty, and he complained that the officials didn't use VAR to make sure.
  • "I asked some people outside with FIFA if I can talk with the referee in a calm and quiet way but they said he's in a meeting and it's not possible.''

Click To Read Full Article

GEOGRAPHY
PERSON
EVENT
ORGANIZATION
GROUP
MISCELLANEOUS

This story was produced by the Kwhen Automated News Generator. For more articles like this, please visit us at finance.kwhen.com. Write to editors@kwhen.com. © 2021 Kwhen Inc.

Was this content valuable for you?